Where it all began

Serenlas Rough Collies…

….beauty inside & out

How did my obsession start…………..it started when I was 5 years old.  A family friend had a rough called Max.  When Max visited I was allowed to go to the park with him on my own.  I felt so special.

I know that one day I would have my own rough.  In December 1992 my husband presented my with a tricoloured bundle of fluff Atendus wotz going to try (Coco Chanel) breed by Gill Unstead.  Coco was everything I dreamt a rough collie would be.  She gave me 11 amazing years of pleasure, she was my daughters favourite playmate.  She particularly enjoyed the pretend tea parties.  She was irreplaceable but time is a great healer and the year my daughter was due to go off the university I decided I needed something to focus on……what better that a new puppy.  My life was now very different and felt I would like to have a go at breeding.  The obvious thing to do was talk to Gill.  Little did I know how this decision would change my life.  I knew I wanted a blue merle and when I spoke to Gill she had a 3 week old litter with 1 bitch that she had been planning to keep to breed herself, but was happy to let her go and have a puppy back.  So May 2010 saw us drive from West Wales to Devon to see this little girl.   Surrounded by 2 litters of puppies I asked Gill which is the little girl she answered the one chewing your hair.  That was it I was hooked, home came Atendus April Maid.

Leave a comment